Latest’s Indian Visa: What Should You Know?


All people who visit to India need a visa, except for the ones who are citizens of neighbouring areas called Nepal and Bhutan.  You know visitors have to either apply for a regular visa or that of an e-Visa (citizens of Japan and South Korea might also get a visa on arrival at six main airports in India). The e-Visa is absolutely free  of hassle to obtain, and will be apt for most of the tourists. 

One can obtain E tourist visa India to visits this country.  You know it might interest you that three kinds of e-Tourist visas are now there with validity of one-month, that of one-year and even that of five-years.  The one-month e-Tourist Visa is a visa that allows two entries. The one-year and five-year e-Tourist visas are the ones that permit the multiple entries but are subject to restrictions on length of continuous stay.  Also remember that the charge for the one-year e-Tourist Visa has been lessened, while the fee for the new one-month e-Tourist Visa has been discounted during the off-peak summer season from the months of April to June.

A quick peep into the Background 

The Indian government came up with a tourist visa on arrival scheme on first January , 2010. It was firstly trialled for citizens of five countries. Then, a year later, it was prolonged to include a total of eleven countries. And, from April 15, year 2014 it got extended to encompass South Korea.

Got effective November 27, 2014, the visa on arrival scheme got replaced by an online Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) scheme. It has got implemented in phases and increasingly made available to more nations. In the month of April in 2015, the scheme got renamed “e-Tourist Visa” by the government of India, to eradicate confusion over the previous capability to get a visa on arrival in the absence of applying in advance.

Then in the April of 2017, the scheme got further extended to passport holders of one hundred sixty-one countries. The Indian government has even extended the scope of the visa scheme to encompass short duration medical treatment and even yoga courses, and casual business visits and that of conferences. In the past, these needed separate medical or student or business visas. The purpose is to make getting an Indian visa convenient, and to get more business people and medical tourists into the nation.

To enable this change, in the April of 2017, the “e-Tourist Visa” scheme turned out to be as “e-Visa”. Furthermore, it got divided into three categories:

  • e-Tourist Visa
  • e-Business Visa
  • e-Medical Visa

Also , two additional categories  known as e-Medical Attendant Visa and e-Conference Visa  have also been added. Remember that up to two e-Medical Attendant visas shall get granted against one e-Medical Visa.


So, since you have a rough idea about Indian visa now, make sure that you plan your visit to India. It is no longer a challenging or hassled task to visit this diversity country named India.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *